Mayor Appointed Vice-Chair of Transportation Task Force

Ontario Minister of Transportation Hon. Caroline Mulroney has appointed Windsor Mayor Drew Dilkens as vice-chair of the Southwestern Ontario Transportation Task Force. The organization’s mandate will be to help prioritize the implementation of the recently released draft transportation master plan for Southwestern Ontario and advise the minister on critical transit and transportation needs in the region.

In January 2020, the Ontario government released their draft plan Connecting the Southwest and committed to include local and regional officials in staging and implementation of the recommendations. Over 40 priorities were identified, which will require the newly formed Southwestern Ontario Transportation Task Force to work with key regional stakeholders, communities, indigenous groups and local governments to help advise the Government of Ontario on next steps. London’s Mayor Ed Holder will act as task force chair.

The draft plan identified several key actions for Southwestern Ontario, including:

  • Undertaking an airport activity and infrastructure survey;
  • Supporting the trucking industry;
  • Widening Highway 3 to Leamington;
  • Making Highway 401 safer between London and Tilbury;
  • Enhancing inter-community rail service;
  • Improving local public transit; and
  • Connecting people to public services.

“I’m pleased to represent Windsor-Essex as Mayor Holder and I take the reigns of this important Task Force,” said Mayor Drew Dilkens. “Windsor is the focal point of so much goods movement, but we are also part of a broader area which is increasingly facing inter-regional transit and transportation challenges. Working with all stakeholders, I know we can deliver a forward-looking and comprehensive implementation plan for the Minister of Transportation.”

Ontario’s southwestern plan defines the region as extending from Essex County in the west and south, Norfolk County in the east and Bruce and Grey Counties in the north. Southwestern Ontario is home to 1.6 million people in 88 municipalities, 10 First Nations communities and five Metis Community Councils.


Provincial News Release English 

Provincial Backgrounder English

Provincial News Release French

Provincial Backgrounder French

Latest News